Charles S. Clark | December 6, 2017 | 0 Comments

Winners of 2017 Presidential Rank Awards Announced

Andrew Harnik/AP

The professional association for senior federal executives on Wednesday announced the winners of the prestigious Presidential Rank Awards, who will earn bonuses and be honored along with their 2016 counterparts at an all-day Dec. 7 leadership summit at Washington’s Mayflower Hotel.

The 36 winners of the annual Distinguished Rank Awards collectively saved taxpayers an estimated $650 billion last year, the Senior Executives Association said. These executives on average manage budgets or projects worth more than $12.8 billion, SEA calculated. The average “positive economic benefit/efficiency per project headed by a 2017 Distinguished PRA recipient is $9.16 billion,” the association added.

The Distinguished Rank winners will receive a bonus of 35 percent of their base salary for their extraordinary results during their careers.

“It is an honor to recognize this year’s Presidential Rank Award recipients,” SEA President Bill Valdez said. “These recipients have proven themselves to be exemplars of public service excellence and have demonstrated a consistent and lasting dedication to the service and leadership ideals of the federal government’s career civil service.”

 The 115 winners of the Meritorious Rank Award, given for sustained accomplishment, will receive a bonus of 20 percent of their salaries. The winners of both awards, who represent a small percentage of the 9,700-member Senior Executive Service and other high-level executives, will receive recognition from the president.

Review boards composed of current and former public- and private-sector officials choose finalists among the nominees, whose backgrounds are then vetted by the Office Personnel Management’s Federal Investigative Services.

Winners can opt not to have their names publicly released as recipients because of personal privacy exemptions under the Freedom of Information Act. While most agree to public recognition, some are reluctant because it is easy to figure out the amount of their Presidential Rank Award since it is based on publicly available salaries, and due to the sensitive fiscal and political climate. 

The 2017 Distinguished Rank Award winners include:

Agriculture Department

Commerce Department

Energy Department

Environmental Protection Agency

Health and Human Services Department  

Homeland Security Department

Justice Department

Air Force Department

Army Department

Navy Department

Veterans Affairs Department

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

National Transportation Safety Board

Office of the Secretary of Defense